After passing a statutory resolution on scrapping special status to Jammu and Kashmir(J&K) by diluting Article 370,Rajya Sabha has now passedvoting on J&K Reorganisation Bill 2019 which will effectively bifurcate state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir with a legislature and Ladakh without legislature. A statutory resolution on Article 370 and J&K reorganisation bill were passed by Rajya Sabha and will be put to vote in Lok Sabha next. Jammu and Kashmir will also become largest union
territory (UT) in India in terms of area once it is
carved out while Ladakh, will be 2nd largest UT after
it comes to force.
J&K Reorganisation Bill 2019
Assembly Seats: Bill that seeks for division of Jammu
and Kashmir will lead to an increase number of seats
in newly-constituted Assembly from 107 to 114 out of
which 24 seats would be deemed to be vacant till time
Pakistan-Occupied Kashmir (PoK) comes under
jurisdiction of Indian state.State assembly currently has 111 seats, of which 46 are in Kashmir Valley, 37 in Jammu and remaining 4 are in Ladakh division. After passing of
reorganisation bill in Parliament, Ladakh will be a
Union territory to be administered by Centre.
Assembly Tenure: With abrogation of Article 370,
tenure of J&K state Assembly will now be 5 years as
in other parts of state which till now had a special
status with a 6-year tenure.
SC/ST Reservation: New Assembly shall have
reservation for Scheduled Caste (SC) and Schedule
Tribes (ST) as in other parts of state.
Reorganisation of Constituencies: Constituencies
will be re-organised through a de-limitation exercise
under 2002 Act of Parliament. For purpose of
delimitation, 2011 census gures will be taken as
Unicameral Polity: Bill also seeks to scrap state’s
legislative council to make J&K a unicameral polity.
State will have a Chief Minister and a Lt Governor
and all nancial bills will need to cleared by Lt
What will Change after Scrapping of Article 370?

With abrogation of Article 370, Jammu and Kashmir
will now have no separate ag or Constitution and
tenure of state legislative assembly will be for a
period of 5 years like any other state and 2 union
territories in country.
Indian Penal Code (IPC) will replace Ranbir Penal Code
(RPC) to deal with criminal matters and Article 356,
under which President’s rule can be imposed in any
state, will also be applicable in union territories (UTs)
Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh with unprecedented decision of Centre. With addition of two new UTs, total number of will go up to 9- J&K, Ladakh, Delhi, Puducherry, Diu and Daman, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Chandigarh, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.